Compassionate Care Leadership Awards

2020 Compassionate Care Leadership Awards

The Coalition for Compassionate Care of California and the Children’s Hospice & Palliative Care Coalition invite our members to nominate individuals and organizations, companies or facilities for the 8th annual Compassionate Care Leadership Awards. These awards recognize and celebrate the positive impacts of Californians who are working in palliative care.

The 2020 Compassionate Care Leadership Awards will be presented at a luncheon at the Coalition for Compassionate Care of California 12th Annual Palliative Care Summit on Tuesday, May 6, 2020.

Travel, lodging, and Summit registration fees will be covered for the individual awardee and one representative from the organization awardee.

Nomination forms will be available for download soon.

Questions? Call (916) 779-7504 or email


Click here to learn about past recipients of the Compassionate Care Leadership Awards.

How to Submit a Nomination

Individuals and organizations that are members of CCCC may submit nominations. (Not a member? Join today.) CCCC encourages those who have nominated individuals and organizations who were not selected in previous years to consider re-submitting their nominations.

  • Each nomination must include a completed nomination form (cover sheet and narrative).
  • Each nomination may also include:
    • Up to two letters of recommendation supporting the nomination
    • Newspaper clippings, brochures or other materials supporting the nomination

Nominations may be submitted by:

  • Email: Attach nomination form and any additional documents in PDF format and send to
  • Fax: (888) 789-9475
  • Mail: Coalition for Compassionate Care of California, Attn: Leadership Awards, 2530 River Plaza Drive, Suite 110, Sacramento, CA 95833.

Leadership Awards Categories & Criteria

Individual Award

Honors an individual who has emerged as a leader in palliative and end of life care in California, and whose work has resulted in improved care for seriously-ill patients and their families.


  • Nominee is seen as a leader in the field of palliative and end of life care.
  • Nominee has made a difference in the lives of patients with serious illnesses and their families.
  • Nominee has helped raise public awareness about advance care planning and/or palliative care.

Organization Award

Honors an organization in California striving to improve the care provided to patients with serious illnesses or life-threatening conditions, whether in a hospital, hospice, nursing home, or at home. Honorees are organizations whose contributions and passion for change are transforming people’s lives.


  • Organization has developed and/or implemented innovative programs to improve care for people with serious illness, whether in a hospital, hospice, nursing home, or at home.
  • Organization has transformed its culture and patient care delivery model to better meet the needs of those with serious or terminal illnesses.
  • Organization, through its influence/advocacy voice, has made a significant contribution to the field of palliative care through education, training, outreach to patients and their families to communicate and implement their wishes.

Leadership Awards Process

The Awards Task Force reviews the nominations and selects the winners. The Task Force is comprised of a cross-section of CCCC members. The selected honorees will be contacted by CCCC prior to award announcement.

If selected, the nominee or, a representative of the nominated organization, agree to attend the CCCC 11th Annual Summit, April 8-9, 2019, in San Francisco, California. Both awards will be presented during the Summit’s Leadership Awards Luncheon on April 9, 2019.

Innovator Award Criteria & Process

On occasion, CCCC also presents the Compassionate Care Innovator Award. This award honors a person who has played a key role in improving the quality and implementation of advance care planning and palliative care in our state. The honorees are selected by CCCC’s volunteer leadership, and are recognized at CCCC’s Annual Summit and Awards Luncheon.